Magic for a Wedding

Weddings are one of the most tricky events to do. For close up magic, on its surface, it is very much the same as any other cocktail reception event.

However, here is the catch.

Especially in local context, invited guest span over a huge demographics. Hence as a performer and from experience, I know that there will be grandparents, adults, young adults (usually children of the older relatives) and even younger children. Contrast this to a regular cocktail reception by a company, you can be fairly certain that the range do not span too widely.

Because of the large demographic, you will need a strong performer who can connect and interact with adults, and at the same time not neglecting the children. If the performer does not do his/her job well, the wedding as a whole may suffer.

The second problem: “Who is the star?”

I think a lot of performers do not recognize that the star of the event is not the magic or the magician, it is the wedded couple. I have heard stories in which the performer makes a grander entrance than the wedded couple. While this is all good in a corporate event, in my opinion, it is not for the couple. I would rather the couple shine on their special day. This is the very same reason I only recommend close up mingling magic for weddings, and not a stage show in which the audience would have to fixate on the performer. Also, considering problem one, a stage show is not the most ideal situation due to the wide demographics. That is, one style of magic performance may appeal to the older crowd but leave the younger adults alienated, or vice versa.

With all that said, I am actually very happy to share a wonderful testimonial from a satisfied client who engaged me to do mingling magic for his solemnization event:

“Hi Alex,

Base on the expressions and feedback I got from all my guests, your performance is marvelous and entertaining. I would strongly recommend other of my friends to you further more I will engage you again for my wedding lunch performance.

Once again thank you for making my wedding/ROM ceremony a memorable one”

Thanks Ian! That made my day!

I managed to get pictures for the lovely wedding held at a gorgeous location at Naumi Hotel. (Courtesy of Ian)

Magical Appearance of the Birthday Surprise!

This event was planned way before the solemnization itself, and I customized a special magic effect in which I made a special birthday gift appear for Ian’s wife, Evelyn. When I appeared with the birthday cake, the lovely bride was suprised as it was a secret. That is just one way of making sure that the couple feels special at the end of the performance.

Interacting with the crowd!

The young ones = )

=)

Congratulations Ian and Evelyn!

Signing off,

Alexander = )

Leave a comment